PRK Surgery

It’s done.

Got up early this morning and made it to the surgeon’s office about 7:15am.  Filled out the paperwork, paid the fee ($2000), and was taken to a back room with several other people (mostly LASIK patients) to be prepped.

Prep is a Valium and a few other pills, I think Ibuprofen, a hair net, and boots for your feet.  Got a couple of drops to numb my eyes and the surgeon came in the “waiting room” to mark on my eyes (literally) with a pen, so the laser would have proper alignment to work with.  Got betadine around my eyes to clean the area.  Also received a name tag, as a precaution, to make sure I got the exact treatment I came for.

The guy before me went in the surgery room, which was next to where I was.  You could hear the laser through the door.  Came out about 10 minutes later.  Asked him how it went and he said it was easy.

Next was my turn.  Got a couple more numbing drops and was lead to the surgery room, where I lied on a table that looks like a massage table.  Was there for about three minutes while I got a couple more drops.

Surgeon came in, “Hello, this is the doctor.  Why are you here?”  Again, verifying that I was the right guy in the right place.

Right eye was first.  He took some kind of machine, which reminded me of an electric toothbrush, and used it to remove the outer part of my eye.  I felt a little pressure, but it wasn’t painful.  Could see him move the outer layer over, so he could get to work.

He verified the laser measurements with the tech and locked the laser in place.

At that point, I looked at the flashing light above me.  Laser started up.  Quick and easy.  Maybe 10-15 seconds.  Vision would come and go.  Just kept trying to focus on the light…

He did something after this point.   Not sure what it was, but perhaps remove everything the laser had left behind?  He mentioned something about “smoothing the edges out.”

Second eye was similar.

At that point, I was done.  Got up from the table and went back to the waiting room.  Went over the drops I’ll need for the next few days and was on my way.

Left the building at 8:45am, so my total time in the office was 90 minutes.  Part of that was waiting on paperwork and most of it was waiting for the Valium to kick in and the guy before me to get taken care of.

Overall, I found the process to be very smooth.  Staff was great.  I wasn’t nervous at all.  Could be the Valium, but I think it had more to do with having been through ICL already.  Comparatively, PRK was a cake walk.  I was amazed at how quick and painless it was.

Had a driver with me and came home.  Had a little pain, but nothing unbearable or that I’d have to take any pain medication for.  Slept for a little over four hours.

When I woke up, eyes had a crusty feeling.  Was slow to open them, so it wasn’t a problem.  Put in some tears and was good.

Seeing well right now, which is about five hours since the procedure.

Have a prescription for a couple of eye drops as well as Percocet for pain and Lunesta to help me sleep, if needed.  Both Percocet and Lunesta are optional.  So far, have had no need to take either.

2 responses to “PRK Surgery

  1. Pingback: PRK Surgery (The Sequel) | My Visian ICL Experience

  2. Pingback: 9 Years Later… | My Visian ICL Experience

Leave a comment